How to Delete a Cash App Account

0

What there is to know

  • Before closing the account, press Collection on the app home screen to withdraw funds from your account.
  • Profile icon > Support > Something else > Account settings > Close the account > follow the instructions.
  • Delete the app from your phone once your account is closed.

This article explains how to delete a Cash App account without losing the funds you have.



The 3 steps to delete a Cash App account

Deleting the Cash App mobile application from your phone or other device will not actually delete your Cash App account; it will still exist until you close your entire account from Cash App itself. Before you can do this, however, you must ensure that you have transferred all funds from your account. Briefly, the steps are:


  1. Empty the account of all money by transferring the funds elsewhere.
  2. Delete the Cash App account.
  3. Delete the app from your device.


The sections below provide step-by-step instructions for each of these actions.



Transfer Funds from the Cash App

To empty funds from your Cash App account, you will need to open the app and log in to your account.


Even if your balance is zero, you cannot close your account if you have stocks or bitcoins. You must enter each stock and choose Sale, and do the same for all the Bitcoins you own. Once everything is zero, including the cash balance, you can follow the steps.

  1. When you first log into your app, you will see the main page where you can normally make or request a payment.


  2. Select the house icon on the bottom left to go to the Cash App homepage. This is where you will find the option to transfer your balance to your bank account by tapping Collection.

    Using the Cash Out option will allow you to transfer funds from your account to the bank account you have already set up for use with your account. If you prefer to transfer funds from your Cash App to another bank account, be sure to set it up before withdrawing your account.

  3. Follow the withdrawal instructions in the app to complete the funds transfer and empty the funds from your account.


Delete your Cash App account

Once you’ve emptied your Cash App account, you’re finally ready to delete it. The delete account option is buried in a few layers of menus. Follow the steps below to find it and initiate the deletion of your Cash App account.


  1. From the same home screen where you removed your account, select your profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen. This will open your profile page. At the bottom of the options list, tap the Support link.


  2. This opens the support page with a list of common help options. The option to close your Cash App account is not listed here so you will need to tap Something else to go to the next page of options.


  3. The next page is where you will find more account options. This is also where you can also press Collection to transfer your Cash App balance to your bank account if you haven’t done so already. Otherwise, press Account settings to go to the Account Settings page.


  4. To start this process, press Close the account > Close my Cash App account.


  5. This will take you to a page with more information on what it means when you close your Cash App account. Read all of this carefully to make sure you really want to close your account. If you are sure, press the Confirm account closure link below.


  6. Once you have confirmed the closure of your account, your Cash App account will be deleted. After that, your $Cashtag (Cash App User ID) will no longer exist. If someone attempts to send you money at this point, they will receive an error.


Delete the app from your phone

The last remaining step is to delete the Cash App mobile application from your phone.


On iPhone, you can delete the app from your phone or through the Apple App Store. On iPhone 12, just press and hold the app, then tap Delete app.


On Android, there are also different options to uninstall the app. The easiest way is to long press on the app and then press Uninstall.


At this point, you have emptied your Cash App balance, closed your account, and deleted the app from your phone. If you ever decide to use Cash App again, you will need to create a new Cash App account and reinstall the app.




FAQs

  • Which bank uses Cash App?

    Cash App is a peer-to-peer mobile payment platform, not a bank. It provides banking services and debit cards through its banking partner(s).

  • How to add money to Cash App?


  • How to send money on Cash App?

    To send money to others using Cash App, first set up your funding source, such as a bank account or Bitcoin. Then look for the money transfer screen, enter the amount you want to send > Pay. On the next screen, enter the recipient’s name, $Cashtag, phone number, or email.


Share.

Comments are closed.